≡ Menu ≡ Menu

OSCARS 2017: The 89th Academy Awards Ceremony Complete List of Winners

The 89th Academy Awards ceremony and it was presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS).

Best Picture

Moonlight – Adele Romanski, Dede Gardner, and Jeremy Kleinerdouble-dagger (Winner)

Arrival – Shawn Levy, Dan Levine, Aaron Ryder, and David Linde

Fences – Scott Rudin, Denzel Washington, and Todd Black

Hacksaw Ridge – Bill Mechanic and David Permut

Hell or High Water – Carla Hacken and Julie Yorn

Hidden Figures – Donna Gigliotti, Peter Chernin, Jenno Topping, Pharrell Williams, and Theodore Melfi

La La Land – Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz, and Marc Platt

Lion – Emile Sherman, Iain Canning, and Angie Fielder

Manchester by the Sea – Matt Damon, Kimberly Steward, Chris Moore, Lauren Beck, and Kevin J. Walsh

Best Director

Damien Chazelle – La La Land (Winner)

Mel Gibson – Hacksaw Ridge

Barry Jenkins – Moonlight

Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea

Denis Villeneuve – Arrival

Best Actor

Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea as Lee Chandler (Winner)

Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge as Desmond T. Doss

Ryan Gosling – La La Land as Sebastian Wilder

Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic as Ben Cash

Denzel Washington – Fences as Troy Maxson

Best Actress

Emma Stone – La La Land as Mia Dolan (Winner)

Isabelle Huppert – Elle as Michèle Leblanc

Ruth Negga – Loving as Mildred Loving

Natalie Portman – Jackie as Jackie Kennedy

Meryl Streep – Florence Foster Jenkins as Florence Foster Jenkins

Best Supporting Actor

Mahershala Ali – Moonlight as Juan (Winner)

Jeff Bridges – Hell or High Water as Texas Ranger Marcus Hamilton

Lucas Hedges – Manchester by the Sea as Patrick Chandler

Dev Patel – Lion as Saroo Brierley

Michael Shannon – Nocturnal Animals as Detective Bobby Andes

Best Supporting Actress

Viola Davis – Fences as Rose Maxson (Winner)

Naomie Harris – Moonlight as Paula

Nicole Kidman – Lion as Sue Brierley

Octavia Spencer – Hidden Figures as Dorothy Vaughan

Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea as Randi

Best Original Screenplay

Manchester by the Sea – Kenneth Lonergan (Winner)

Hell or High Water – Taylor Sheridan

La La Land – Damien Chazelle

The Lobster – Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou

20th Century Women – Mike Mills

Best Adapted Screenplay

Moonlight – Barry Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney from In Moonlight Black Boys Look Blue by Tarell Alvin McCraney (Winner)

Arrival – Eric Heisserer from “Story of Your Life” by Ted Chiang

Fences – August Wilson from Fences by August Wilson (posthumous nomination)

Hidden Figures – Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi from Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly

Lion – Luke Davies from A Long Way Home by Saroo Brierley and Larry Buttrose

Best Animated Feature Film

Zootopia – Byron Howard, Rich Moore, and Clark Spencer (Winner)

Kubo and the Two Strings – Travis Knight and Arianne Sutner

Moana – John Musker, Ron Clements, and Osnat Shurer

My Life as a Zucchini – Claude Barras and Max Karli

The Red Turtle – Michaël Dudok de Wit and Toshio Suzuki

Best Foreign Language Film

The Salesman (Iran) in Persian – Asghar Farhadi (Winner)

Land of Mine (Denmark) in Danish – Martin Zandvliet

A Man Called Ove (Sweden) in Swedish – Hannes Holm

Tanna (Australia) in Nauvhal – Martin Butler and Bentley Dean

Toni Erdmann (Germany) in German – Maren Ade

Best Documentary – Feature

O.J.: Made in America – Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow (Winner)

Fire at Sea – Gianfranco Rosi and Donatella Palermo

I Am Not Your Negro – Raoul Peck, Rémi Grellety, and Hébert Peck

Life, Animated – Roger Ross Williams and Julie Goldman

13th – Ava DuVernay, Spencer Averick, and Howard Barish

Best Documentary – Short Subject

The White Helmets – Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara (Winner)

Extremis – Dan Krauss

4.1 Miles – Daphne Matziaraki

Joe’s Violin – Kahane Cooperman and Raphaela Neihausen

Watani: My Homeland – Marcel Mettelsiefen and Stephen Ellis

Best Live Action Short Film

Sing – Kristóf Deák and Anna Udvardy (Winner)

Ennemis intérieurs – Sélim Azzazi

La Femme et le TGV – Timo von Gunten and Giacun Caduff

Silent Nights – Aske Bang and Kim Magnusson

Timecode – Juanjo Giménez

Best Animated Short Film

Piper – Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer (Winner)

Blind Vaysha – Theodore Ushev

Borrowed Time – Andrew Coats and Lou Hamou-Lhadj

Pear Cider and Cigarettes – Robert Valley and Cara Speller

Pearl – Patrick Osborne

Best Original Score

La La Land – Justin Hurwitz (Winner)

Jackie – Mica Levi

Lion – Dustin O’Halloran and Hauschka

Moonlight – Nicholas Britell

Passengers – Thomas Newman

Best Original Song

“City of Stars” from La La Land – Music by Justin Hurwitz, Lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Winner)

“Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” from La La Land – Music by Justin Hurwitz, Lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul

“Can’t Stop the Feeling!” from Trolls – Music and Lyric by Justin Timberlake, Max Martin, and Karl Johan Schuster (Shellback)

“The Empty Chair” from Jim: The James Foley Story – Music and Lyric by J. Ralph and Sting

“How Far I’ll Go” from Moana – Music and Lyric by Lin-Manuel Miranda

Best Sound Editing

Arrival – Sylvain Bellemare (Winner)

Deepwater Horizon – Wylie Stateman and Renée Tondelli

Hacksaw Ridge – Robert Mackenzie and Andy Wright

La La Land – Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan

Sully – Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman

Best Sound Mixing

Hacksaw Ridge – Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie, and Peter Grace (Winner)

Arrival – Bernard Gariépy Strobl and Claude La Haye

La La Land – Andy Nelson, Ai-Ling Lee, and Steve A. Morrow

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio, and Stuart Wilson

13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi – Greg P. Russell,[n 1] Gary Summers, Jeffrey J. Haboush, and Mac Ruth

Best Production Design

La La Land – David Wasco and Sandy Reynolds-Wasco (Winner)

Arrival – Patrice Vermette and Paul Hotte

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Stuart Craig and Anna Pinnock

Hail, Caesar! – Jess Gonchor and Nancy Haigh

Passengers – Guy Hendrix Dyas and Gene Serdena

Best Cinematography

La La Land – Linus Sandgren (Winner)

Arrival – Bradford Young

Lion – Greig Fraser

Moonlight – James Laxton

Silence – Rodrigo Prieto

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Suicide Squad – Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini, and Christopher Nelson (Winner)

A Man Called Ove – Eva von Bahr and Love Larson

Star Trek Beyond – Joel Harlow and Richard Alonzo

Best Costume Design

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Colleen Atwood (Winner)

Allied – Joanna Johnston

Florence Foster Jenkins – Consolata Boyle

Jackie – Madeline Fontaine

La La Land – Mary Zophres

Best Film Editing

Hacksaw Ridge – John Gilbert (Winner)

Arrival – Joe Walker

Hell or High Water – Jake Roberts

La La Land – Tom Cross

Moonlight – Nat Sanders and Joi McMillon

Best Visual Effects

The Jungle Book – Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones, and Dan Lemmon (Winner)

Deepwater Horizon – Craig Hammack, Jason Snell, Jason Billington, and Burt Dalton

Doctor Strange – Stephane Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Vincent Cirelli, and Paul Corbould

Kubo and the Two Strings – Steve Emerson, Oliver Jones, Brian McLean, and Brad Schiff

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal Hickel, and Neil Corbould

Academy Honorary Awards

Jackie Chan — Hong Kong martial artist, actor, director, producer and singer.

Anne V. Coates — British film editor

Lynn Stalmaster — American casting director

Frederick Wiseman — American filmmaker, documentarian and theatrical director

Films with multiple nominations and awards

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment