JUST IN: Zubiri has Officially been Elected Senate President

Sen. Juan Miguel “Migz” Zubiri was elected as the new Senate’s president on Monday, which marked the official start of the 19th Senate.

Zubiri was referred to as the “trabahador” (worker) of the Senate by colleagues who nominated him. He used to be the majority leader.

Sen. Emmanuel “Joel” Villanueva stated, “To take stock of his legislative track record, I say that Senator Zubiri’s leadership traits best fit for Senate Presidency: compassionate, collaborative, and creative,” 

He also mentioned Zubiri, “knows by heart and as second nature the Senate Rules and the ins and outs of navigating the legislative procedures, duties, responsibilities, and bureaucracy”.

Zubiri was also proposed for the position of Senate president by Senators Lorna Regina “Loren” Legarda, Jose “Jinggoy” Estrada, Mary Grace Poe, Ronald “Bato” dela Rosa, and Joseph Victor “JV” Ejercito.

Senators Pilar Juliana Cayetano and Alan Peter Cayetano declared themselves “independent” and abstained from the vote.

Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III and Ana Theresia “Risa” Hontiveros, both senators, did not vote. They will reportedly join the minority bloc, according to reports.

Also chosen as president pro tempore was Legarda, who will be returning to the Senate.

The Commission on Elections resolution announcing the 12 senatorial candidates who would be elected in the May 2022 elections was read prior to the election. After that, they took the oath of office.

The newly-elected senators are: Jose “Jinggoy” Estrada, Francis “Chiz” Escidero, Mark Villar, Alan Peter Cayetano, Juan Miguel “Migz” Zubiri, Emmanuel Joel Villanueva, Raffy Tulfo, Sherwin Gatchalian, Francis “Chiz” Escidero, Ana Theresia “Risa” Hontiveros, and Mark Villar.

Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III, Maria Josefa Imelda “Imee” Marcos, Pilar Juliana “Pia” Cayetano, Ronald “Bato” dela Rosa, Christopher “Bong” Go, Manuel “Lito” Lapid, Juan Miguel “Migz” Zubiri, and Juan Edgardo “Sonny” Angara are the current senators.

Leave a Comment